Evacuations force postponement of meets this week

The Kincade fire and evacuations turned the North Bay League cross country season on its head last week, forcing the cancellations of all meets across the county.

As a result, league officials announced that the meets would not be made up and teams would move on to the NBL Championships this weekend. The defending NBL champion Jaguars will try to secure their second straight Redwood Division title at the league finals this Saturday, Nov. 9 at Spring Lake in Santa Rosa.

Windsor and Analy, which were supposed to meet in a showdown at Foothill Park on Oct. 30, enter the league championships on Saturday tied for first place with identical 4-0 records.

Jags race past Cougars     

On Oct. 23, the Running Jags traveled to take on Rancho Cotate on the Cougar’s home course, easily dispatching their hosts to win both varsity races. The wins kept Windsor unbeaten on the North Bay League Redwood Division circuit.

“The goal for this one was to go out and get the "W," Jag’s coach Brandon Bronzan reported. “Our top three guys cruised through the course with Hunter pulling away for another win.  I also really liked the way Ben Kvamme battled, out-kicking Rancho's No. 1 guy to the line.  That's the kind of grit we'll need during a championship season,” he added.

Below are the complete varsity results for Windsor runners against Rancho Cotate.

Windsor at Rancho Cotate (Oct. 23, 2.97-miles)

Varsity Boys Windsor 16, Rancho Cotate 55

Windsor results only

1. Hunter Larson, 16:27

2. Landon McAllister, 16:37.0

3. Dustin Smith, 16:44.0

4. Ben Kvamme, 18:15.1

6. Kevin Manni, 18:20.3

7. Max Hidalgo, 18:21.7

8. Tallen Theiss, 18:25.0

9. Garrett Melvin, 18:29.8

10. Ajani Martinez, 18:51.3

11. Valentino Bugica, 18:58.7

12. David Kvamme, 19:17.3

13. Steven Vail, 19:19.3

14. Robert Carrillo, 19:20.9

16. Marquez Vigil, 20:07.7

17. Max Weng, 20:12.8

18. Benjamin Chatfield, 20:33.5

22. Alex Hawk, 21:34.6

Varsity girls – Windsor 15, Rancho Cotate Inc.

1. Lilja Chung, 20:13.4

2. Elsa Nolen, 20:54.2

3. Erin O'Mara, 21:18.9

4. Ava Smith, 21:20.4

5. Nataleigh Johnson, 21:36.1

8. Jayda Pignataro, 23:03.7

9. Prissilla Tucker, 23:23.4

11. Erica Hovland, 24:15.0

13. Dafne Cruz, 26:11.3 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.